Tree Anchoring

Site Specific, String

I have been working on some site specific string work.  Moving on a little from the eggs, I was looking at string and the idea of tension and anchoring.  I was looking at the type of traps that Bear Grylls sets (yes, believe it or not) to catch animals.  I found out they are called Spring Noose Traps.  I was mostly interested in how the tension of the bends the tree branch and anchors it to the ground.  I found this supremely hard to photograph, but here are some shorts of the first work I made.

Moving on from there, and thinking of anchoring a tree.  I wanted to basically tie a tree down.  Here are the results…

Take that tree.  Can’t run away now, can ya!
Leave a Reply

