Exhibition Exhibition!!

First Site

What a full few days it has been!  I started installing for my exhibition at First Site gallery (RMIT Link Arts) on Monday.  What a puzzlement to arrive, put my stuff in the middle of the room and look around at the empty walls.  What was I going to do?  How does one start such things?

Well, I did start, and spent many many hours over the Monday and Tuesday installing, pinning clothes to the wall, etc.  Big thanks to Polly and Aimee, my fellow exhibitors, who were amazing and supportive.  And Andre and Simon from RMIT Link Arts for their help and support also.

The opening was lots of fun.  I was really nervous about it, but I was able to relax and enjoy myself.  We probably had about 200 people through over the evening.  There was lots of good feedback, so I was pleased with that – even though I know I am presenting some works that some people might find… challenging.   I had to learn to have confidence in the work I made.  It did feel a little bit odd at times, as this is work I made 6 months ago.  I know no one had seen it yet, but it seems like old news to me.  I’m now working on new things – still looking at “the fold” but in a different context, for the moment I’m leaving the clothing behind me.  But you never know… eh what? :)

Here are a few photos of the works…


And just in case you hadn’t had enough, check out this virtual tour (of sorts) of the gallery.
 
One thought on “Exhibition Exhibition!!

  1. Awesome, awesome stuff Naomi!!! I am sure that the photos don't do it the justice of seeing it in person but thank you for posting this so that I could share in your wonderful artistry! Love ya!

Leave a Reply

