Proposing a new proposal for my proposal

Uncategorized

I finished uni classes for the year a few weeks ago, and I am determined to continue art making over my break.  Don’t want to lose the momentum that I built up over the semester.  However, I have been in struggle-town as far as ideas.  But I have been thinking of short-term projects and fencing myself into paint-on-canvas and convention.  Stuff that.  It took me a little while to realise that’s not for me.

After having an art day with some friends from uni last week, I was reminded that I should write another art proposal and use that to make work.  Simple!  Why didn’t I think of that myself.  Thanks Eva.

Actually, not that simple.  I didn’t know what to write about and therefore to start a body of work about.  I don’t want to completely disown I am woman hear me… do housework but I would like to move away from the confinement of clothing.  I want to build on those ideas and explore some of the issues that arose out of making that work. 

Writing a proposal is hard enough, but how do you even start that with a group of seemingly unrelated ideas: segment, interval, seasons, neat little boxes, order, shapes fitting together, origami, sculpture intersecting with painting, substrate becoming sculptural, and the idea of hiding what has been painted.  I’m not sure how they fit together, but I have decided to just thread them together and see what comes of it.  At worst I have plenty to investigate.

Immediately, I am relieved.  I have spent the last day or so researching origami and a few artists who I think these ideas relate to.

Leave a Reply

